Daydreams

When I was a kid I remember getting told off all the time by my teachers for daydreaming.

I would stare out of the classroom window and get completey absorbed in another world, no racing thoughts or worries, it was bliss.

And I remember being chastised for it all the time and believing it to be a bad thing. It even showed up on my school reports ‘needs to do less daydreaming’.

To by absolute bemusement, now as a 35yr old I realise that I was doing something so healthy and necessary for my mental well being, so basic and natural, that it should have been encouraged and not chastised.

The reason I am bemused is because I am effectively learning now as an adult how to do the very thing that used to come so naturally and I am learning that it is vital for my mental well being.

The postitive thing here for me to notice is that I used to be very good at daydreaming, which now I’m older is called mindfulness. Who would have thought it?

I’ve heard my psychologist say that teaching mindfulness to children is an important thing and not to be overlooked. I wish my primary school teachers had known then what psychologists know now. I think I would have had top marks for daydreaming instead of tellings off.

đŸ™‚

One thought on “Daydreams

  1. […] Daydreams (iamoneinfour.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

My Life, My Way, My Words

The Random Ramblings of a British Asexual

i am one in four

speaking up about mental illness

The Littlest Hobo

Doesn't matter if it's out of tune, cos you're cool

Disorderly Chickadee

Out of My Tree

as i see it

MUSINGS UNDER THE GLORIOUS SUN, THE SOLACE OF THE MOON, AND WELL, WHATEVER IS IN BETWEEN

Change for a Year

Take a year. Change your life.

Skinny or Die

(may be triggering)

Griffins and Ginger Snaps

To share what I know, what I learn, what's helpful and what's not, and everything in between

Army Of Awesome People

Named by Google as one of the sites on the internet

The Better Man Project â„¢

a journey into the depths

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

